Is fossil collecting legal in Spain?

Strepsodus

Hi. I'm going to Mallorca in a couple of months; I know of a few good sites, but I'm not sure if collecting is legal.

Is it legal or not?

Thanks,

Daniel

I'm not an expert in fossil hunting laws, but I've seen many Spanish collectors and until now never saw/read anything saying that is illegal to search geological samples in Spain :zzzzscratchchin: ...Let's wait for our Spanish members answers :) .

Regards,

Not sure of legalities of collecting in Spain..... but I am not sure of the weight limit you can bring back on the plane :D

if you are going to collect there, it is not a problem, only if you try to export your finds please be aware of this:

Quote:
Law 13/1985 of 25 June 1985 concerning the Spanish Historic Heritage.

Royal Decree 11 l/l986 of 25 January 1986 in partial implementation of Law 16/l 985 of
25 June 1985 concerning the Spanish Historic Heritage.

1. Cultural property subject to export control

Immovables and movables of artistic, historic, palaeontological, archaeological,
ethnographic, scientific or technical interest including the documentary and
bibliographical heritage (Law, Arts. 1, 5).
Owners and possessors of such objects which are more than 100 years old or listed on
the General Inventory must have explicit and prior authorization to export (Art. 5), but
other goods may also be declared non-exportable pending the commencement of
proceedings to list them on the General Inventory (Art. 5).

2. Type of export control

Prohibition of export without a licence (Law, Art. 5). Export is subject to a tax, except
in the case of goods imported within the previous ten years (evidenced by documents),
which have not been declared to be part of the national historic heritage, temporary
export of goods which are part of the national historic heritage and export of goods of
living authors (Art. 30). The tax varies from five to 30 per cent depending on the value
of the object concerned (Art. 30).