Is this gift a real Dromaeosaurinae indent claw?

My wife bought me this fossil as a Fathers Day gift. I'm a physicist not a paleontologist so while I like having a little cabinet of curiosities, including a bit of mars, i have no competence in assessing the reality of the fossil.

I was a bit concerned when the fossil came without any paper documentation, just an email to my wife.

I'm also wondering because of the color; i realize that the color varies with the minerals but i personally haven't seen a fossil, as opposed to a matrix, this lightly colored.
post-21784-0-85781900-1466562551_thumb.jpg
I queried the dealer and he said he got it from a UK dealer.

Seeing the picture posted my impression is that the real item is a bit whiter. The background is very white.

Do you have other photos?

The human mind has the ability to believe anything is true.  -  JJ

I really can't help with the identification, but if someone can help if you google Dromaeosaurinae indent claw an image of this exact piece(different photo) is there.

...I'm back.

Do you have other photos?

Yes. I'm new here however and I don't see a way to upload an image on my computer in a reply.

Use the More Reply Options at the lower right of the text box.

I've found quite a few and from the photo I'd say it isn't. However, not quite enough detail to be definitive.

One needs to see the proximal surface to make a judgement. That's the surface of the claw towards the body ( opposite of tip). The way it attaches to the previous phalange is somewhat diagnostic.

Re the colour. Yes, can be quite variable depending on a variety of variables from the minerals in the ground, heat, etc. As a physicist I'm sure you can think of all types of scenarios that could impact the density, colour and and subtle shape of a specimen over tens of millions of years. We get used to finding fossils in a particular formation and can overlook similar specimens in another.