Buying a Sauropod Foot Claw?

Troodon

I was reading a paper Fruitbat just posted in his fantastic PDF library, on sauropods see below,  and it triggered a concern that I've had for a while for collectors purchasing claws.   First let me preface the discussion by saying I'm not a sauropod expert just throwing out some observations and questions.    Identifying claws is not an easy diagnosis.

Sellers typically put a name, mostly at a genus level, on claws they sell.   I have several in my collection and boy they are indeed hard to distinguish between families.   

Here is a seller offering a juvenile Diplodocus foot claw from the Morrison formation.

s-l1600.jpg

So is this a juvenile? or just one of the smaller claws from a hand or foot?  Also, what's so diagnostic about this claw that one can claim it's from a Diplodocus? 

A museums view of Diplodocus foot

Diplo.jpg

Then there Apatosaurus not much different.

Apato3.jpg

I personally believe trying to identify isolated sauropod claws to family level is very difficult since there is very little diagnostic about them.   Its a non starter for most except for the most knowledgeable in the field.   Issues like age of individual,  position in the foot, distortion and preservation make a diagnosis very hard.   

Here is a seller doing it the right way calling his specimen just Sauropod.

s-l1600 (1).jpg

I think if your interested in purchasing a claw that you're interested in having a positive ID it needs to be done with an associated foot since they are diagnostic.  Another possibility is knowing that a claw came from a Quarry that is predominantly from one type of Sauropod.  

Here is a seller doing exactly that, selling an Apatosaurus foot.Apato-footbones.jpg

The paper that started this post has a couple of nice views of Camarasaurus feet/claws that you can use for comparative purposes.

Screenshot_20161013-043757.jpgScreenshot_20161013-044156.jpg