Santonian Bivalve ID (probably veneridae)

David in Japan

Hi everyone, 

It's been a while. Here are two picture of a bivalve I found in Himenoura formation Japan.

I have been hunting these place regularly for 2 years but it is the first time I found such large bivale there.

I looked into my local documentation to put a name on it but I didn't found anything.

Here is some information about the beast:

Formation: Himenoura

size: 13cm long / 9cm width

I think it is a kind of veneridae because the hinge teeth (even if difficult to see on the picture and worn) looks like Mercenaria mercenaria teeth.

If someone have any idea about the clam shell, I would be gratefull to hear about.

20161113_203123_001.jpg

~~~~~~~~~~~~〇~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Warmest greetings from Kumamoto、 Japan

The prominent umbo and fairly close bilateral symmetry makes it look like it is in the cockle family. But then it seems to also be pretty thick and have a smooth outer surface... not like something in the cockle family. I don't see the hinge teeth, they seem to be under some matrix or broken away, so that is not a help.

Venus shells can have a thick shell and smooth outer surface, but then they often are not nicely symetrical and normally don't have such a large umbo. A Mercenaria clam like you mention is a Venus.

So this seems to be half Venus and half Cockle (half Veneridae and half Cardiidae). That makes us back up the taxonomy tree and say it is in the the order Veneroida, but according to Wikipedia, the cockles have been thrown out of that order.

Mmmm... this one is confusing.