Pleistocene bog iron track

MarcoSr

I have been collecting Pleistocene bog iron tracks for several years helping a USGS emeritus with his study of them.  The attached picture shows a piece of bog iron with a Pleistocene mammal track that I recently collected.  There are five distinct pads in the track.  One pad on the left side of the print is difficult to see in the picture because it is not discolored like the other four.  Two nail/claw prints can also be clearly seen.  From looking at my Peterson Field Guide on animal tracks, I believe that the track could be from a fox, like a gray fox, based upon track size and features.  Edit:  The track turned out to be a Canipeda gracilis footprint, made by a juvenile coyote .   Marco Sr.

Print Pleistocene Virginia.jpg

Edited by MarcoSr
Print determined to be a juvenile coyote
  • I found this Informative 7

"Any day that you can fossil hunt is a great day."

My family fossil website     Some Of My Shark, Ray, Fish And Other Micros     My Extant Shark Jaw Collection

image.png.9a941d70fb26446297dbc9dae7bae7ed.png image.png.41c8380882dac648c6131b5bc1377249.png

Very Cool Marco!!

Bulldozers and dirt Bulldozers and dirt
behind the trailer, my desert
Them red clay piles are heaven on earth
I get my rocks off, bulldozers and dirt

Patterson Hood; Drive-By Truckers

image.png.0c956e87cee523facebb6947cb34e842.png May 2016  MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png.a47e14d65deb3f8b242019b3a81d8160.png.b42a25e3438348310ba19ce6852f50c1.png May 2012 IPFOTM5.png.fb4f2a268e315c58c5980ed865b39e1f.png.1721b8912c45105152ac70b0ae8303c3.png.2b6263683ee32421d97e7fa481bd418a.pngAug 2013, May 2016, Apr 2020 VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png.af5065d0585e85f4accd8b291bf0cc2e.png.72a83362710033c9bdc8510be7454b66.png.9171036128e7f95de57b6a0f03c491da.png Oct 2022

9 hours ago, FossilDudeCO said:

That is very cool!

Thanks for sharing!!

7 hours ago, DarrenElliot said:

Very impressive

6 hours ago, ynot said: