Late Triassic ammonite from Guizhou, China

atcg01

Here are two plates from Guizhou province. They should be Protrachyceras sp. ammonites from late Triassic. 

First one:

810eaa39ly1fb4ex7juqaj21va2sq7wi0.jpg

Second front:

810eaa39ly1fb4ex4kaf1j22713361kz0.jpg

Second back:

810eaa39ly1fb4ex67gydj227132hx6q0.jpg

Edited by atcg01

Welcome to the Forum. :) 

Nice ammonites - thanks for showing us. 

Regards,

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

Thanks Tim, I'm a rookie both to fossil collection and the forum. Hope to learn more knowledge and experience here and very happy to share the local fossils for reference. 

Cheers,

Feng

Yeah, there're so many of them on the back side. I'm trying to learn how to prep fossils on youtube and hope one day can dig them out :) . The matrix sandstone is not too hard anyway.

4 hours ago, atcg01 said:

Yeah, there're so many of them on the back side. I'm trying to learn how to prep fossils on youtube and hope one day can dig them out :) . The matrix sandstone is not too hard anyway.

You could start with some small picks, or even sewing needles if the rock is not hard. I like sewing needles because they can get into small places, and it is very difficult to damage a fossil with them, when you use too much force on the wrong spot :trex:

• I found this Informative 1

10 hours ago, sdsnl said:

You could start with some small picks, or even sewing needles if the rock is not hard. I like sewing needles because they can get into small places, and it is very difficult to damage a fossil with them, when you use too much force on the wrong spot :trex: