Authentic Fossils?

rdiuz

Hello everyone,

This is my first time here, as well as my first time purchasing fossils.

I'm interested in purchasing the attached fossils. How do I know whether or not they're authentic? I would really appreciate some help.

:)

il_570xN.1079193637_11ap.jpg

il_570xN.1121643317_jkoo.jpg

il_570xN.1075054900_ii8i.jpg

il_570xN.846989762_qsjp.jpg

il_570xN.846989770_ppis.jpg

@rdiuz

Those first 2 fish are mostly paint!

Looks like about 75% restoration on each of them.

The second fish are actually much better for the price they look to be natural (no paint)

The ammonites are real, and nice because the centers are not crushed!

I agree with FossildudeCo. 

1st set of fish are real in part but mostly paint. 

The second set is much better, and real.

The ammonites are real too. 

Regards,

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

Both fossil dudes have provided excellent council. The 4 fish slab is much more desirable in my mind over the "enhanced" first two. That being said, if you are simply desirous of an example of a fossil fish; specimens in much finer states of preservation are readily available at modest cost (e.g. Green River, Knightia ). Good luck and have fun in your search.

Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, also are remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so. - Douglas Adams, Last Chance to See

13 hours ago, ynot said:

Guess I should have looked closer!:blush:

Yeah geez Ynot!!

smearing Tony's good name!

Don't worry we wont hold it against you Tony :P

• 2 weeks later...