Freeport Beach Texas Fossil - Medial Phalanx?

AliBear

Hi, I'm new here and I am a biologist by education and a fossil hunter by hobby. I found this fossil on Freeport Beach in Texas on Christmas Day, 2016. I have been trying to get into contact with a paleontologist at the Houston Museum of Natural Science, but I figured it doesn't hurt to seek out additional resources, especially for future ID assistance. This bone is approximately 3 cm long. I think it is a medial phalanx, but I have seen so many phalanges, but I have no idea how to get it down to species or even Order for that matter. So I was hoping someone here could help me out. The area it was found in is known for Pleistocene fauna and Clovis artifacts, since the what is now beach was plains 10,000 years ago. 

Thanks! I will appreciate any feedback.

IMG_3256.JPG

IMG_3257.JPG

Does the Houston Museum of Natural Science identify specimens? I live in Houston, it would be very interesting to know!!!

"Without fossils, no one would have ever dreamed that there were successive epochs in the formation of the earth" - Georges Cuvier

I was given the name of a paleontologist there and told that they would love to help me with ID, but his voicemail box was full so it wouldn't allow me to leave a message. I'm assuming he's out in the field - the website says he's involved in a Dimitrodon dig in north Texas (I think) so it wouldn't surprise me if that's the case. If I hear back from him, I'll definitely let you know!

Wow I might send some fossils there!!!:dinothumb:

"Without fossils, no one would have ever dreamed that there were successive epochs in the formation of the earth" - Georges Cuvier

22 minutes ago, AliBear said: