Plesiosaur vertebrae (resolved)

Crann

Hi, out fossil hunting around yorkshire coast and came across this vertebrae, looks like a Mosasaurus to me but hey... I'm pretty new to this and learning every nature given day, any ideas ? Cheers.

Can't add any pictures due to site not allowing my basic mobile photos to upload, will have to try later after adjusting or something... 

5 minutes ago, Crann said:

Added to nhm forum as no issues, will still try and resize to add to this forum as some informative people.

Yeah, try resize the photos. I'm anxious to see the vertebrae!!! :popcorn:

"Without fossils, no one would have ever dreamed that there were successive epochs in the formation of the earth" - Georges Cuvier

I believe the Mosasaurus was late cretaceous but this was found on the jurrasic coast, doesn't look like an ichthyosaurus from pictures I've looked at though ?

Mosasaurs are indeed strictly Late Cretaceous.

This vertebra looks mammalian to me. So it's likely just washed up to the coast from the depths of the North Sea where a lot of Late Pleistocene fauna is found.

It seems to be a mammalian dorsal vertebra. Where the ribs would articulate can clearly be seen in the last photo.

Olof Moleman AKA Lord Trilobite

1 hour ago, LordTrilobite said:

Mosasaurs are indeed strictly Late Cretaceous.

This vertebra looks mammalian to me. So it's likely just washed up to the coast from the depths of the North Sea where a lot of Late Pleistocene fauna is found.

It seems to be a mammalian dorsal vertebra. Where the ribs would articulate can clearly be seen in the last photo.

Hmmm... That would be a good guess, but I don't think that it's true. 

Attached is a map with the currents in the North Sea. I made a white dot at where Yorkshire is, and approximatively circled in yellow the area that contains the famous Pleistocene mammal bones.