Brown Bear

Low Country Fossil Excursions

Brown Bear

Greetings from Florida!

I am hoping one of my fellow Fossil Forum brethren might help me out. I am planning a family vacation to the Charleston area the first week of April and came across Low Country Fossil Excursions online. I definitely wanted to do some fossil digging while we are up there, but some of their reviews concerned me. I just spoke to Shawn Damon (guide/owner) on the phone but I am still a little worried about this guided hunt.

I am an AVID hobbyist fossil hunter here in Florida, with about 20 years (on and off) of experience, and frequently participate in digs with the University of Florida. Not to be rude, but it is imperative to me, that for the kind of money they are asking, we are going to an area not accessible to the general public or at the least, not heavily trafficked and picked over. I appreciate the value of a good guide, but I am just unsure. Do any of you have experience with this company? Are they worth the $360.00 they are asking for to take my wife, myself and my skilled 8 yr old side-kick (daughter) on a 6 hour "walk-in" hunt? It seems like a lot, especially after what I read on Trip Advisor.

Would I be better off to learn the SC fossil hunting rules and strike out on my own? THANK YOU IN ADVANCE for your candid and honest answers!!!!!

Brown Bear

Just an afterthought but are there any SC locals that have creek access that they would allow my Tribe of 3 to hunt in lieu of a paid tour? I would be glad to clean up behind ourselves or pay for access to your property.

Salty