15 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am completely new to everything related to fossils but my little brother is interested in paleontology (he is 9). I live in the north york area (toronto, ontario) and I'm considering looking for fossils with him(he has never went). The only river I really know of is the don valley river. It is possible for me to go right next to the water since there is a little animal-made trail there if that is of any importance. The river goes through the West Don Parkland. Overhead view of the river: 

https://www.google.ca/maps/@43.760302,-79.4425897,284a,20y,62.99h,41.66t/data=!3m1!1e3

We aren't really looking for any specific fossils so I don't plan on going too far, I wouldn't go outside of toronto. Really anything will do. Where do you guys recommend we visit? Is winter a bad time to go fossil hunting? Is the area described above suitable for fossil hunting?

Well, fossil hunting during the winter can be challenging.  The ground will be solid and that would be a pain to gather any that are stuck in the ground.  I found this, not sure if you already saw it http://www.cbc.ca/player/play/2398346302.  My personal opinion is to wait until the ground unfreezes.  You may find some fossils in the area you showed.  I do not know if there are any specific places to look.  Good luck!

1 person finds this informative

Hi Furious Fossil!

Welcome to TFF!

I live on the west side of the GTA, in Mississauga, so I'm not sure about the Don River out in the east, but I've had success in finding fossils along the Humber River (under the Bloor Street bridge and the Old Mill bridge) as well as along Etobicoke Creek south of the Queensway.  All of the fossils in the GTA will be marine-based and very old - between 460-440 million years old (Upper Ordovician).  I've found lots of orthoconic nautioids as well as a smattering of other fossils such as gastropods, bivavles, brachiopods, crinoids, bryozoans, corals, and trilobites.