Stabilizing Small Fragment of Mastodon Tusk

darrow

This is a Mastodon tusk fragment I found this in a fresh water environment in early November.  It seemed relatively stable after cleaning, but over the past four months the uniform dark brown has taken on this mottled pattern.  I haven’t detected any instability, no flaking or crumbling, but it no longer sounds solid when tapped with a finger,  I assume cracks and fractures are propagating with progressive drying and differential shrinking. 

I know modern elephant ivory can develop cracks as it ages. So I assume it’s only a matter of time before this fragment starts to fall apart.  I have a couple pounds of Butvar B-98 but I have little experience with fossil ivory.  Should something like this be given time (months) to dry thoroughly before being consolidated?   is it okay to just dunk something like this in Butvar after the initial cleaning and 24 hours to dry?  I would have liked to retain the more attractive rich uniform brown color.

Darrow

1.1.jpg

2.1.jpg

3.1.1jpg.jpg

Consolidate now!  The original color may be restored to a large degree.

There are extensive suggestions for consolidation in many threads on the forum.  Do a search.

http://pristis.wix.com/the-demijohn-page

What seest thou else

In the dark backward and abysm of time?

---Shakespeare, The Tempest

I would suggest immediate consolidation. My preferred method is pouring on a thin solution of butvar and acetone.

if you are already experiencing cracking, I would not soak the specimen as this may loosen poorly cemented pieces.

• I found this Informative 1

It survived a 24 hr soak in a 5% wt/vol solution Butvar B-98 and 99.5% isopropanol.  

I put a mammoth tooth in over an hour ago and it's still outgassing a few steady streams of bubbles.  

IMG_1408.JPG

IMG_1409.JPG

IMG_1405.JPG

• I found this Informative 1

2 hours ago, darrow said:

It survived a 24 hr soak in a 5% wt/vol solution Butvar B-98 and 99.5% isopropanol.