Fossilized food looks like corn

Nörsk Grunner

I found this near a pebble beach on a lake in Northwest North Dakota. Native American tools and arrowheads have been found at this location. I have wondered what could explain this stone. Could it be fossilized food? Corn? Nuts? Caviar? The other rock looks like a burnt bone. I am a novice at fossil identification. I appreciate the educational guidance this forum has to offer. Please let me know your thoughts. Thank you.

IMG_0723.JPG

IMG_0724.JPG

I am going to say it is highly unlikely it is some kind of food item (that stuff doesn't tend to fossilize very well in most conditions). It looks more like mineralization/concretion to me.

• I found this Informative 3

...How to Philosophize with a Hammer

I won't eat it. Is that second picture not even a bone?

The one on the right looks interesting. Can we see additional photos (different angles) that one? Other angles of the second photo could help as well. 

The rock beneath the "corn" looks a bit like petrified drift wood. But some minerals have that same look.

• I found this Informative 1

Interestingly shaped rock that's not bone nor wood. I will definitely check out that link. What would cause such a formation? The middle has a shiny black glassy substance and the shiny brown side has those systematic etchings... and the odd hollow side of the interestingly shape rock totally fooled me.

IMG_0781.JPG

You have a brecciated rock that has several different minerals filling the voids left when ti broke..

Some of the minerals have eroded out leaving the cavities.

The "black glass" is most likely hematite, an iron oxide.

Darwin said: " Man sprang from monkeys."

Will Rogers said: " Some of them didn't spring far enough."

My Fossil collection - My Mineral collection

My favorite thread on TFF.

Geology is an interesting force of nature. ;) 

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER