Where do you guys get all your fossils? How far did you travel?

Fossilian

Hey guys, I am really new to this fossil hunting place. I have been hooked since grade school though. So now since I am an old man with 2 teenage boys, I have finally decided to go fossil hunting with my family. 

So, I was really looking to be active on this forum. One event I found interesting is the blind trade. I was about to apply, but then I saw what people were trading. 

How did they get so many different kinds of fossils? Over where I live, there are only shark teeth.

Thanks, I live in NJ.

In the area that I live there are no fossils. I have to travel at least 6 hours to get to a good site. 

Many others here on TFF have fossil bearing formations as close as thier backyards.

How far You have to travel is dependent on what You hope to find and where You live in relation to where that type of fossil can be found.

I try to find a good site wherever I go, regardless of what is there. (I like all types of fossils.)

Good luck,

Tony

Darwin said: " Man sprang from monkeys."

Will Rogers said: " Some of them didn't spring far enough."

My Fossil collection - My Mineral collection

My favorite thread on TFF.

Unlike Tony, I have a great fossil collecting area  within a 45 minute drive- Mazon Creek.  Though the area us close to me and I have a ton of Mazon Creek fossils, they are not my favorite. I wish I live near the Badlands of South Dakota so I can collect mammal fossils every day- those are my favorite.  But to get to the heart of your question,  some people acquire their fossils by personal finds,  some people take their personal finds and trade with other collectors, others never collect any of the there own fossils and purchase everything or collect some and purchase others. You will be able to do the same thing with your shark teeth- a lot of people on the forum love shark teeth.

Good luck and good collecting.