Preparing a sea urchin

Max-fossils

Hi all,

First off, I am a real noob when it comes to prepping fossils... This is why I have a question for you, which I don't think would be too hard for you pros out there.

Some of you may have seen this sea urchin before; anyways I wanted to prep it, as I believe it will look quite nice after a good prep. There is just one problem though: the matrix is very hard (compared to what I'm used to). So how should I clear all this matrix?

The tools I have are very limited, but I can buy new things (as long as they are very cheap materials). I have: one long thin metal needle, one strong pointed needle, one strong small chisel, and one thing to blow the matrix away (sorry if I don't have the correct terms)... If needed I can post a picture of the tools.

Here is a picture of the fossil:

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Max Derème

"I feel an echo of the lightning each time I find a fossil. [...] That is why I am a hunter: to feel that bolt of lightning every day."

- Mary Anning >< Remarkable Creatures, Tracy Chevalier

Instagram: @world_of_fossils

An air scribe is really good for prepping fossils. I don't know how much money you want to spend, but mine is the cheapest (good) one in the market I think. It's a HW1 from a dealer in Brussels (Belgium). I don't know if you have a compressor, but you need that too. If you don't have the tools or the money to buy the tools, maybe it's better to wait until you have, otherwise you'll regret it later.

Nice urchin indeed, where is it from?

• I found this Informative 1

32 minutes ago, gigantoraptor said: