Fossil Hunt South Dakota 2017

RJB

My youngest son and I left for a fossil hunting trip this last thursday and hit many a fossil site in South Dakota.   Because there will be lots and lots of prep from this trip I have decided to put all this on this one thread.  This is gunna take quite awhile!!!   We drove the first day 12 and 1/2 hours.  Had some serious road buzz.  Only way to take care of that is some 'road buzz liquid'. 

DSCN1025.JPG.3033f5f1f270f9041b9a30e21a7578ff.JPG

The next morning we met up with my buddy that ive been working on for 18 months.  Didnt find a whole lot, but did come away with some crab concretions of the rare Dakota cancer.  3 of these for certain has crabs in them, the rest?  What kind of preservation they have?  Complete?  But whatever happens with these, I most certainly have none so far, so this is quite exciting for me.  Ive only ever seen one that was in a concretion and the poor guy absolutely butchard it!!!!    Gunna be very interesting to say the least.

DSCN1034.JPG.692d1705ba5a6d9a557681d54a465df5.JPG

Our second camp site.

DSCN1033.JPG.024b6d10805be2695ef267d814eaf175.JPG

The next day was another 5 hour drive to a freind of mine where we went last year and decided to do that again for some more Fox Hills ammonites.  We went to a certain river and picked up some rocks that look promising.  Then the next day went to a different river and picked up some more rather nice rocks.   Very private land, but nice to have a freind with permission.  

DSCN1035.JPG.c3220208836b11bfa2f55f53b87e093a.JPG

More to come.

RB

• I found this Informative 2