Why do hemipristis teeth keep their serrations?

mattbsharks

Hi Everyone, 

I have been collecting fossil teeth for a couple of months and I have noticed that all of the hemipristis teeth I have collected have complete and sharp serrations on them. However, the teeth of other species that I collect, such as megalodons, do not tend to have complete and sharp serrations. Does anyone know why hemi teeth tend to keep all of their serrations despite the millions of years of wear and tear?

The only thing that comes to mind is the relative size of the serrations. Hemipristis (snaggeltooth) have very large serrations while most other shark have fine serrations.

• I found this Informative 2

Darwin said: " Man sprang from monkeys."

Will Rogers said: " Some of them didn't spring far enough."

My Fossil collection - My Mineral collection

My favorite thread on TFF.

Just speculations but for one snaggletooth serrations are much larger therefore takes more tumbling & stumbling to wear them down/ off. Also because megalodons were warmblooded/ constantly feeding compared to snaggles, maybe they were quicker to wear them down/ replace them from feeding much more (seems most break after fossilizing but maybe they were/are less durable; not that I haven't found very busted up hemi's but seem less common than meg frags) 

It can be frustrating I've come close several times to finding a pristine 1- 2 inch or so meg but have yet to find my first lol. Would be interesting to see if Hemi teeth are more durable, not that I would test any..

• I found this Informative 1

From the teeth I have collected, I have noticed that hemi teeth break in just the root of the teeth, while my meg teeth break in the enamel and the root. I bet that the enamel of hemi teeth is stronger.