hemi123

sediment formation

hemi123

Newbie here, so forgive me plain simple words. So I have been trying to research how to find areas that would show exposed sediment layers down the the marl, i.e...ditches, slopes,,I know this would be a game changer for anyone regarding fossils and where they are deposited but a clue would help. Or, I guess I can keep piling on the miles and hours to find them. 

SailingAlongToo

@hemi123

Many of the terrain features in the Atlantic Coastal Plains are cut by water. Look for ravines, drainage cuts, drainage ways and along creeks / streams / rivers that have high banks. You should be able to see various stratigraphy layers in the banks. Remember though, all land is owned by someone and it varies state by state. In VA, landowners on tidal water own to the mean low tide mark. In NC and MD it is to the mean high water mark. Pretty much, if you dig in the banks, bluffs, cliffs, etc. you are damaging someone's property. In some places it is illegal to dig in any water way bank or bottom.

There are also several other options that may be more appealing than trespassing or destruction of property.

1) Research and join a local fossil or mineral club. Many do several guided trips a year that members can participate in.

2) Volunteer with a local museum that does field research. Most are happy to have volunteers to help out in the field and at the museum. You can learn a lot doing this.

3) Research online for various fossil sites with public access in your area. Countless publications are available online.

4) Contact your state Geological Survey. Many have publications and point you to publicly accessible fossil areas.