Tex

My son found these on the DPS trip to Oliver Creek. The hand out that shows some of what you can find list Epiaster Whitei. My son is giving the bigger one to his school science teacher to go in the classroom with the ammonite already there, so I need to make sure I put the proper information on the identification card I'm sending with it, so can anyone say for sure what these are? Thank you. 

echinoid 1.jpg

echinoid 2.jpg

1 hour ago, Tex said:

My son found these on the DPS trip to Oliver Creek. The hand out that shows some of what you can find list Epiaster Whitei. My son is giving the bigger one to his school science teacher to go in the classroom with the ammonite already there, so I need to make sure I put the proper information on the identification card I'm sending with it, so can anyone say for sure what these are? Thank you. 

echinoid 1.jpg

echinoid 2.jpg

I'm not an expert but it does look like a good match with Epiaster Whitei.  

Great. Thank you. If no one else says other wise, I'll go with that. I have to have it made up tonight, so he can take it to school in the morning. 

1 hour ago, Tex said:

Great. Thank you. If no one else says other wise, I'll go with that. I have to have it made up tonight, so he can take it to school in the morning. 

Here is a good photo you can use as a reference:

http://paleoportal.org/index.php?globalnav=fossil_gallery&sectionnav=detail&submission_id=568&taxon_id=58&state_id=&period_id=&assemblage_id=&last_section=search

57739_submission_image_568_medium.jpg

This is the identification card I made (well, while I was at my moms, I had her write them since she has prettier handwriting than I do). 

IMG_4767.JPG

10 hours ago, Tex said:

This is the identification card I made (well, while I was at my moms, I had her write them since she has prettier handwriting than I do). 

IMG_4767.JPG