Sign in to follow this  
Voth1

Planning Trip To Dallas Area

Voth1    0
Voth1

Hey guys.

I'm thinking about taking a trip to the Dallas area to do some fossil hunting in the next week or so. I'm a newbie and have been searching the internet to learn how and where.

I'm from Lake Charles, LA. and I don't really know anything about Texas fossil locations other than what I've read, such as, Mineral Wells, North Suphur River,  Lake Benbrook, and a couple of others.

My daughter and I are interested in trying this to see if it's something that we will like. I used to dig arrowheads in LA. 30 years ago and I really did enjoy finding a nice one. As a couple of newbies, finding anything would be awesome! I thought that my first stop would be Mineral Wells since the internet makes it sound like I'm almost guaranteed to find something. Any advice for my first hunt will be much appreciated.

I will be pulling a camper along with me, so any campsite info. close to the fossil locations would be great also.

Thanks

Stephen 

Fruitbat    386
Fruitbat

Stephen...

If you have decided on Mineral Wells Fossil Park then you might want to visit their web page at this link: Mineral Wells Fossil Park for collecting rules, etc.   The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department operates Lake Mineral Wells State Park (link) which is very pretty.  There are a number of other RV-type parks of varying quality scattered around the area.