KimTexan

I found this a while back in the lower Cretaceous. I'm not sure what it is. It looks like a fruit of some sort. I've never found anything like it. Mostly what I find are ammonites, gastropods, bivalves, brachiopods, corals and such. 

I have not totally cleaned it up, because I found these little nibs on the surface and I'm not sure if they're part of the structure or not. Also what I think is the top or stem area is very tough and I'd hate to ruin some fine feature if it's there. I'd like to know what it is supposed to look like before I finish it off.

I'm a novice so I don't really know good techniques for cleaning off the stuff encrusting it. Hopefully I'll improve with practice. I'm eager to learn, because I've got a lot of cool fossils still encased in crud I'd like to remove if I knew a good way to go about it.

It's about 2 cm in diameter. The first 2 shots I took on a mirror so you could see the top and bottom/side in one shot.

Any help would be appreciated.

IMG_0142.JPG

IMG_0127.JPG

IMG_0139.JPG

Yours is actually the normal size of a Porocystis globularis. They were originally thought to be a seaweed air bladder but now considered an algal fruiting body. I know they are found in the Glen Rose Formation.

Edit: Here is a photo from the wikipedia article on the Glen Rose Formation.

105px-Porocystis.jpg.dbac1c6e25e0db6bf3ed6349e4f8ebd6.jpg

• I found this Informative 4

Knowing where something was found is very important to it's identification. ;)

I live too far away for any regulars to kick me in the seat of the pants for pointing this out. :)

I concur as to it's identification but as far as algae I do not.

I have my own theory as to it's existence.

Do a search here in the forum for a short conversation on these specimens of Porosystis globularis.

Jess B.

• I found this Informative 1

Link to the topic Jess referenced. ;) 

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER