Wondering what this fossil online is and if it's real

mattbsharks

I found this online for sale and I haven't seen anything like this. Does anyone know what type of dinosaur this is or if it is even real. It makes me suspicious what with all of the posts I've seen about fakes. It measures about 9 inches. The seller does say that the rock has been repaired.

IMG_1224.PNG

IMG_1225.PNG

IMG_1226.PNG

IMG_1227.PNG

This is not a dinosaur. 

It is Keichosaurus, a marine nothosaur from the Triassic. 

Many of these come out of China but many are faked. 

i am biased as  am always suspicious, but the head of this one particularly looks odd. 

I would say fake, but lets see what others with more knowledge say. 

Life's Good!

Tortoise Friend.

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png.a47e14d65deb3f8b242019b3a81d8160-1.png.60b8b8c07f6fa194511f8b7cfb7cc190.png

The crack through the middle is a good sign, fakes would have covered this up. Looks fine to me, but I’m not experienced in this area.

“...whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity, from so simple a beginning endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been and are being evolved.” ~ Charles Darwin

Happy hunting,

Mason

2 minutes ago, Tidgy's Dad said:

This is not a dinosaur. 

It is Keichosaurus, a marine nothosaur

Thank you! I looked it up and sure enough, you were right. It is incredible! I was skeptical because of how cool it was

1 minute ago, WhodamanHD said:

The crack through the middle is a good sign, fakes would have covered this up. Looks fine to me, but I’m not experienced in this area.

thank you for the input! 

There are several threads that ask the same question in the "Is It Real? How to Recognize Fossil Fabrications" sub forum. 

Do a search there, for Keichousaurus to see what others think.

Darwin said: " Man sprang from monkeys."

Will Rogers said: " Some of them didn't spring far enough."

My Fossil collection - My Mineral collection