3depix

Ceratosaurus 3D Reconstruction Project

3depix

Hi everyone!

As I have mentioned several times, being a 3D artist I am trying to move into the field of paleoart. Recently I have started modeling Ceratosaurus nasicornis in 3D, and I really want to make it as accurate and plausible as possible. Here is what I have got so far: a basic model done in 3ds Max. After this I am planning to take it to ZBrush and add more muscle definition, sking wrinkles, scales and other fine details. At this stage this is just the base and I would like to share it with you guys in order to receive some feedback from those who know their dinosaur anatomy. Did I get the shape and overall structure right?

Constructive criticism is more then welcome, pretty much this is what I am asking for here.

1. Mesh

Cerat_Mesh.thumb.jpg.89f794aba67a7553c3a6701e2b8481da.jpg 

2. Body

cerato_init_01.thumb.jpg.1d23348734cafd2ae3c5c760387f25c6.jpg

3. Perspective

cerato_init_02.thumb.jpg.8a3242a2f030445b546f316ca4dc96d2.jpg

4. Back

cerato_init_03.thumb.jpg.dfcfdca08f5a83322f5d1e298e891b9d.jpg

5. Top view

cerato_init_04.thumb.jpg.f26fd073e6185569dd3a971237b4a0c7.jpg

6. Head close-up

cerato_init_05.thumb.jpg.bdd2c1972fa5a66c52c2bad292be5744.jpg

Troodon

Scott is one of the best to re-create the sketal structure and overall shape and following his lead not a bad idea.

nasicornis.png.2d5524f8400414cdab0afa889990c153.png

I always think everyone including yourself over exaggerate the horns even with keratin,  I'm sure everyone has their opinion.

20180113_060600.thumb.jpg.c7694f576d929f9ec59e94a2fc02bbb2.jpg20180113_060605.thumb.jpg.c7dd04ea96f2dee8fc111d3420b02beb.jpg

WhodamanHD

Only thing I have to say is don’t fatten the neck up quite as much as a rex because the head of a T. rex is massive and required a fatter neck. Great job so far:dinothumb:

3depix

@LordTrilobite Thank you very much for such a detailed and helpful response! Really appreciate this.