Sign in to follow this  
DanKurek

Road trip from Melbourne to Mannum SA, any Fossil Sites along the Way?

DanKurek

Hello Everyone!

In a couple weeks my dad and I will be driving to Mannum, South Australia to look for fossils with the NSW Fossil Club.

We were planning on stopping at a couple spots along the way to look for some stuff, Portland, Yellow Rock, Alestree beach and Jan Juc. We were wondering if there was any real good spots to stop at and have a look? 

Foozil

Can't help but see you there, hopefully! 

Macrophyseter

I'm not an expert on Australia, but I've heard that Beaumaris Bay near Melbourne is one of the richest fossil sites in the area, although I dont really know its current status (A few years ago a yacht club tried to destroy the fossil site in order to expand their port, I dont know what happened now). As far as I know, they have Early Pliocene marine fossils. In fact, someone found a Livyatan tooth in Beaumaris, so there might be good stuff there!

Foozil
14 hours ago, Macrophyseter said:

I'm not an expert on Australia, but I've heard that Beaumaris Bay near Melbourne is one of the richest fossil sites in the area, although I dont really know its current status (A few years ago a yacht club tried to destroy the fossil site in order to expand their port, I dont know what happened now). As far as I know, they have Early Pliocene marine fossils. In fact, someone found a Livyatan tooth in Beaumaris, so there might be good stuff there!

Still open, went there recently.

Maybe @Paleoworld-101 could help out on this thread

Paleoworld-101
20 hours ago, DanKurek said:

Hello Everyone!

In a couple weeks my dad and I will be driving to Mannum, South Australia to look for fossils with the NSW Fossil Club.

We were planning on stopping at a couple spots along the way to look for some stuff, Portland, Yellow Rock, Alestree beach and Jan Juc. We were wondering if there was any real good spots to stop at and have a look?