Turtles and Dinos?

Moozillion

I am a complete and total novice, and I realize this question may be common knowledge to experts, but I figured it would still be a good place to ask.

I am also a member of a tortoise forum, which is where I met Tidgy's Dad, who eventually enticed me to check out this forum too!

Among the general population, it seems there is the idea that turtles (and tortoises) lived at the same time as dinosaurs and outlived them. I already know that MODERN turtles and tortoise did not coexist with dinosaurs.

My question is "What animals DID coexist with the first MODERN turtles and tortoises?"

Thanks!

Bea/ Moozillion

• I found this Informative 2

I believe I have never read one of your posts before.

I personally have found turtle remains in Upper and Lower Cret.

(Drawing the line at turtle being aquatic and tortoise being terrestrial)

What we consider the modern turtle has been around since before the Jurassic.

Which would place it firmly within the boundary of the primordial age of dinosaurs.

Tortoise is another point to ponder. I am no expert by any means but they surely have been around for a long time.

If you pull up time line of the Turtle/Tortoise you may find that they go back to the Triassic. Old in the extreme.

Where timeline split off into "modern" is questionable at best.

Listing animals that co-existed with them would be a list that would go on for page after page.

Is there any reason why you need this knowledge? :mellow:

There will be more folks here that will place posts on this subject. :popcorn:

• I found this Informative 1

The first turtles are known from the Upper Triassic of Guizhou, China - at about the same time the first dinosaurs appeared. That was about 220 million years ago. 

These two turtles are from the Cretaceous of Liaoning, China, roughly 100 million years ago. Both were contemporaries of dinosaurs.

Be not ashamed of mistakes and thus make them crimes (Confucius, 551 BC - 479 BC).