Identifying Counterfeit Fossils

Good Evening All, 

I have a question regarding online fossil purchases and how to recognize fakes. Is it safe to assume relatively inexpensive vertebrate fossils (<$500) coming out of China are counterfeits? (See attached example minus identifying information to be in keeping with forum policies)

I know extinct hyenas aren't as sexy as dinosaurs or direwolves, but that's like 1-2 orders of magnitude cheaper than most carnivore skulls I've seen while internet window shopping. I also was under the impression China did not allow the export of fossils, but I am admittedly not very well versed in the world of private fossil dealings. 

It's sort of an academic discussion I guess (somewhat literally and figuratively). I'm a veterinary student and have recently been obsessing over canine evolution because I'm a huge dweeb. Student loans what they are these days I don't think I'll be spending what little beer money I have on canid fossils (also, strictly speaking, hyenas aren't canid fossils anyway), but I'm curious what the community thinks about listings like this. 

Best, 

RonG 

Screen Shot 2018-04-09 at 10.33.01 PM.png

1 hour ago, RonG said:

Is it safe to assume relatively inexpensive vertebrate fossils coming out of China are counterfeits?

It is true that much of the fossils that are coming out of China these days are fake, and this is due to a recent ban on exporting vertebrate fossils in China. However, as far as I know, hundreds of fossils have already been exported before the ban (and illegal smuggling still exists :ninja:), so there are still quite many real Chinese fossils still in circulation. It's always best to first check with some experts before deciding if you're going to get something from a country that has now banned exporting them.

If you're a fossil nut from Palos Verdes, San Pedro, Redondo Beach, or Torrance, feel free to shoot me a PM!

Mosasaurus_hoffmannii_skull_schematic.png

@RonG