What fossils/geological things can be found in Northern Illinois?

ilovethebeatles

Hello! I'm new to this website and I'm wondering what interesting geological things and fossils I can find in Northern Illinois. I'm new to geology and fossils so any tips/education would be welcome! Thanks! :D

Welcome to TFF from Maryland! I wish you luck in your fossil-hunting endeavors!

“...whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity, from so simple a beginning endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been and are being evolved.” ~ Charles Darwin

Happy hunting,

Mason

5 minutes ago, WhodamanHD said:

Welcome to TFF from Maryland! I wish you luck in your fossil-hunting endeavors!

Thanks!! :D

Do you live in Northern Illinois? I'd suggest joining ESCONI(Earth Science Club of Northern Illinois)

Their website can be found here. http://www.esconi.org They take several field trips to the areas hard rock quarries. These quarries are middle to upper ordovician in age: Decorah, Galena and Maquoketa formation. Two times a year they take a trip to a private spoil pile in the mazon creek area to hunt concretions that contain fossils from the carboniferous. Some examples are; ferns, jelly fish(theres a lot of those lol), insects other plant material including wood. Im not too familiar with all the finds there, but you won't get bored there! In early spring and late fall we go to St.Paul, Indiana and hunt the Waldron shale (silurian) and a quarry. We also have yearly rock and fossil shows, monthly general meetings with geology, fossil and archeology on seperate days. 

There are other spots as in road cuts, river cuts and RR cuts too, but im typically reluctant to hand the locations out as they take time in research to find and or they're given to me by friends on the condition of I tell no living soul of its location.

Good luck in your endeavors!

Best regards,

Paul

EDIT: Permian to Carboniferous

...I'm back.

Welcome to the Forum. :)