Bone Identification From Central Ky

romatti

This bone was found in central Kentucky. I've been researching in an attempt to identify this bone. It appears to closely resemble a tarsal bone, perhaps a talus?

I was hoping someone here could offer some insight as to the identificaton of this bone.

The attached pictures show different angles and sizes.

If you have any questions, please let me know.

Thanks for your time and assistance.

post-1814-1250737910_thumb.jpg

post-1814-1250737941_thumb.jpg

post-1814-1250737965_thumb.jpg

post-1814-1250737987_thumb.jpg

post-1814-1250738003_thumb.jpg

post-1814-1250738017_thumb.jpg

post-1814-1250738029_thumb.jpg

post-1814-1250738043_thumb.jpg

very interesting bone and good pics. i'm not sure what it is as i'm still learning myself, but i'm sure someone on here will help you out. welcome to the forum!

Its an artiodactyl astragalus, but I'm not good at telling the cows/bison from camels as they look similar to me. Is it light or heavy? Mineralized or not? What was the burial context, if known? (found in stream float vs. dug up, etc.)

Grüße,

Daniel A. Wöhr aus Südtexas

"To the motivated go the spoils."

Thanks for the replies.

I'm new to vertebrate fossils/bones, so I will try to answer the questions.

It is moderately heavy. (I'm unsure what to compare the weight to.)

I'm sorry. I do not know how to determine if the bone is mineralized?

It was found very slightly protruding from the ground, and the remainder had to be dug out. It was found in an area close to natural springs.

ok, first, a side note to tj - there are a plethora of astralagi (astralagusses', astralags - why was latin so freakin' hard and why is it still used?!)(p.s. -whaddaya mean it's all greek to you?) very near you as we type (well, i type [actually keyboard] and you sleep).