Bone Fossil SW Montana

Ckam123

I recently found this specimen near a river in SW Montana.  It was partially buried in an area that was know to be a popular area for Native Americans to hunt/camp.  
It looks to be the bulbus end of a bone or epicondyle, but I am no expert.  A smooth gray inner layer is surrounded by a brown porous outer layer that is smooth in spots but rough & eroded in others. 
It could be just a strange rock formation, but it was found in an area that had mostly old river rock and this stood out like a sore thumb.  Its location also made it a very odd find.    

Anyone have any insights?  Thanks!

Fossil2-1.jpg

Fossil2-2.jpg

Fossil2-3.jpg

Fossil2-4.jpg

Fossil2-5.jpg

It's strange looking, but looking closely I do not get a bone vibe from it.

The massive cavities under (and breaching) the surface are not like any bone I have seen.

~~.jpg

I think it is a product of geology, not biology.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

I agree, not a bone.

“...whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity, from so simple a beginning endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been and are being evolved.” ~ Charles Darwin

Happy hunting,

Mason

Maybe a speleogen mineral structure like "Boxwork"?

5b510cb3a381d_08NaturalBridgeBoxworks2010.jpg.f1493acf367364673986d8d3a8ddb6b0.jpg

picture from here

" We are not separate and independent entities, but like links in a chain, and we could not by any means be what we are without those who went before us and showed us the way. "

Thomas Mann

My Library

The blue-gray material is interesting. Is it just a thin layer? Does it have any particular features under magnification?

(not seeing bone either)