Better Photos from iPhone

DPS Ammonite

I found a simple technique for getting better up close photos from an iPhone 6. I hold, with one hand, my 10x Hastings Triplex hand lens centered over the iPhone lens and the phone. See the difference (look at "ton" in Washington in these photos of a 1 $ US bill. 

Now, maybe we can see the pebbly texture of eggs or the grain in petrified wood.

Photo without handlens: 

IMG_0508.JPG

• I found this Informative 3

My goal is to leave no stone or fossil unturned.   

See my Arizona Paleontology Guide    link  The best single resource for Arizona paleontology anywhere.       

Yes, i've been doing this for several months now, and it certainly pays dividends! 

But any shaky hands are magnified by 10 so, a firm rest for the hands is essential.

Detail I cannot see with my fading eyesight is revealed.

20180815_002344-1.thumb.jpg.92cef7fb7375e5dc8ce473307c27ce07.jpg

Still don't know what it is, though.

• I found this Informative 3

Life's Good!

Tortoise Friend.

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png.a47e14d65deb3f8b242019b3a81d8160-1.png.60b8b8c07f6fa194511f8b7cfb7cc190.png

Very nice!  Did @Bobby Rico ever elaborate on where Mrs. Rico found the lens he clipped to his phone?  I suppose I could just google it...... always forget about that! :D

Everything is generated through your own will power ~ Ray Bradbury