ShoreThing

Calvert Cliffs...in the winter?

ShoreThing

So I am pretty new to this whole shark tooth hunting thing, but after my first time at Venice Beach I was hooked. Unfortunately I live in PA, so a trips to the beach are far and few between. Anyway, with the semester ending soon I will have some time 'off' for a few weeks and wanted to get some advice about maybe taking a day trip to Calvert Cliffs. If I go I plan to go to Brownies Beach and spend the day. I'd like to plan to go mid-week on a day when the tide is receding around sunrise, head south for a few hours and make my way back before it comes all the way back in, take a break for a bit and then do some more looking as it is going back out before dark and I head back home. Does this sound like a decent plan?...I'm also not sure how/if the cold weather effects the soil around the cliffs. Does it freeze and get much harder, thus teeth are not as easily exposed and kicked into the surf? I'd appreciate any advice you have! Thanks!

Tidgy's Dad

Can't help, but Just wanted to wish you a very warm welcome to TFF from Morocco! :)

We have plenty of members who'll be able to help who'll be along when they wake up in a while, I'm sure. 

FossilsAnonymous

Just up from hibernation.. You can go, just be prepared for icy cold water and wind (waders or boots) a heavy leaf covering. On the bright side, there are less people and the tide goes out further, which in my case exposes more fossiliferous material.

Darktooth

I have been there in the months of January, February, and March. I try to check the weather before I go. I would stay away if there is strong winds forecasted, as this tends to make the tide higher than normal, and that can make things dangerous. Otherwise you should be fine. 

ShoreThing
18 hours ago, Tidgy's Dad said:

Can't help, but Just wanted to wish you a very warm welcome to TFF from Morocco! :)