Can You Guys Help Me With An Id?

Jeff

doesn't look like a fossil to me. looks like someone scribed the lines into clay with a stylus or something.

The rock that this was taken from was as big as a small car and also had shells in it every where as well

Jeff Adair

doesn't look like a fossil to me. looks like someone scribed the lines into clay with a stylus or something.

I disagree looks like a dremel to me

Galveston Island 32 miles long 2 miles wide 134 bars 23 liquor stores any questions?

Evolution is Chimp Change.

Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass; it's about learning to dance in the rain!

"I like to listen. I have learned a great deal from listening carefully. Most people never listen." Ernest Hemingway

Looks like a crinoid stem and a coral cup. Do you know the age of the rock?

I'm not 100% on the age of the rock I'm just getting started in this hobby and still need get up to speed a little more. :D

Jeff Adair

Looks like me like a badly eroded or perhaps former impression of a cephalopod perhaps something like Lituites lituus(the only one with that shape I can think of at the moment)

If it were a Cephalopod, would it not increase in diameter and in the spacing between the segments?

It appears to reach the edge of the plate; can we get a good close-up of the potential cross-section there?

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

If it were a Cephalopod, would it not increase in diameter and in the spacing between the segments?

It appears to reach the edge of the plate; can we get a good close-up of the potential cross-section there?

I have many Cephalopod specimens which don't, be it the way it preserved or species. Generally as a rule though I would think you are correct.