JimHank

Post Oak Creak Sherman Tx Hunting Tips

JimHank

Hello all,

Jim here and brand new to fossil hunting. My wife and took a trip up to Post Oak Creek today and spent a couple hours looking for fossils, specifically shark teeth. We came up empty handed and so I figured I would hit up some seasoned professionals for advice on tips for finding them. We saw a few different folks there wearing rubber boots and had sifter boxes, not sure if they were successful but at least told me we were in the right place....where Travis Street crosses over the creek.

Any advice and tips you can share would be greatly appreciated, I was really excited about finding some sharks teeth and bummed when we didn’t find any. I did find what appeared to be a fossilized bone but being a complete newbie I have no idea, I left it but did take some pictures I can post if anyone is interested.

thanks in advance,

jim

Raggedy Man

The best tip: Don't give up!

Tidgy's Dad

Hello, and a very warm welcome to TFF from Morocco. :)

Bit out of my area so can't help, but there are many members who know this area very well and am sure could offer you great advice. 

DPS Ammonite

Welcome to the Forum.

Get closer to the ground: sit down or bring kids along. That is why young kids with better vision are sometimes more successful. Most of my teeth were found by looking at the gravel close up.

Join the local Dallas Paleontological Society: they take trips there and will be able to give you good advice.

https://www.dallaspaleo.org/

JarrodB

Walk a little ways away from the bridges if you see lots of tracks. Crawl around with knee pads and gloves (lots of glass). Some gravel bars have more than others so if you come up empty handed after 30 minutes or so move to the next gravel bar. 

Dustinwolfe82

Jim,