New Here, Fossil I.d.?

TriloGuyKy

I'm a novice and beginning fossil hunter/collector, and am learning how fun and addictive it can be. I live in Lexington, KY. Rocks here are all Ordovician in age. Am posting some photos of a large mystery rock. I suspect it may be some type of coral or part of a coral/bryozoan colony, but not certain. It just looks so marine-like in appearance! Anyone with expertise in Ordovician fossils help me figure out what it is! Thanks and looking forward to being a member here.

The 4th & last pic is of a smaller similar artifact found in the same outcrop on a roadcut in central KY.

post-2269-12534003361473_thumb.jpg

post-2269-12534006118812_thumb.jpg

post-2269-12534010043872_thumb.jpg

post-2269-12534010149613_thumb.jpg

Welcome!

It looks suspicious (in a coral kind of way)...if you can get larger clearer pics (closeups)of the items it would help. The biggest problem with IDing from pics is detail.

Be true to the reality you create.

Welcome. I used to live there. Looks like it may be bryozoan, but looks kind of "worn". Our KY Ordovician expert should chime in here eventually.

Welcome!

It looks suspicious (in a coral kind of way)...if you can get larger clearer pics (closeups)of the items it would help. The biggest problem with IDing from pics is detail.

Thanks for the input so far everyone. I too think its either Bryazoan or Coral of some type it is just so odd looking with the small things embedded in it and the holes in it. Im pretty sure the roadcut I got it from was Lexington Limestone, Middle Ordovician.

post-2269-12534798794366_thumb.jpg

First off, welcome to the forum!