Beginner tools for fossil preparation.

Misha

Hello everyone,

I was wondering what tools people would recommend for fossil preparation, I am an absolute newbie in this area and am not familiar with what options there are out there but would really love to learn, so far I only have a pin vise  which I have used on rough matrix removal but too scared to get close to the actual fossils.

Thank you, 

Misha

It really depends on the type of fossils you are looking to prepare. 

Most here use an air abrading device, along with a pneumatic air scribe. 

For some softer shales and limestones, a pin vice, hobby knife, and rotary type tool work well for both fine work and bulk removal. 

Harder matrices will require air tools. 

If you search the Fossil Preparation Forum, this is a question that has been asked a few times before. ;)

• I found this Informative 3

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

55 minutes ago, Misha said:

Hello everyone,

I was wondering what tools people would recommend for fossil preparation, I am an absolute newbie in this area and am not familiar with what options there are out there but would really love to learn, so far I only have a pin vise  which I have used on rough matrix removal but too scared to get close to the actual fossils.

Thank you, 

Misha

I started with a small ball peen hammer and a 3" drywall screw. :D

• I found this Informative 2

1 hour ago, Ptychodus04 said:

I think I have those somewhere, I will try it out.

2 hours ago, Fossildude19 said:

It really depends on the type of fossils you are looking to prepare. 

Most here use an air abrading device, along with a pneumatic air scribe.