aplomado

Legality of collecting fossils in creeks in Alabama

aplomado

Is it legal to collect fossils from creek beds that run through private property (owner unknown) if accessed from public property?

It is my understanding that creek beds are owned by the state (correct me if I am wrong)... does that mean collecting from these locations is OK?

DevonianDigger

Indeed, I would hope that goes without saying. I just shared what I found regarding the subject, but I am not a lawyer and don't even live in Alabama.

Fossildude19

But , ... do you play one on TV???  ;) 

No worries, Jay. 

DevonianDigger
2 hours ago, Fossildude19 said:

But , ... do you play one on TV???  ;) 

No worries, Jay. 

No, usually I'm the guy being defended by the lawyer on TV...

Tidgy's Dad

I have actually portrayed Atticus Finch, who was a lawyer from Alabama, on stage and therefore feel I am more than qualified to comment. 

Kane
11 minutes ago, Tidgy's Dad said:

I have actually portrayed Atticus Finch, who was a lawyer from Alabama, on stage and therefore feel I am more than qualified to comment. 

I happen to share a birthday with Gregory Peck (but sadly lack his dashing good looks!). What an inspired and profound novel, and one that we read in grade school. Thanks for the reference and the reminiscence. :)

Tidgy's Dad
1 minute ago, Kane said:

I happen to share a birthday with Gregory Peck (but sadly lack his dashing good looks!). What an inspired and profound novel, and one that we read in grade school. Thanks for the reference and the reminiscence. :)

Happy to oblige.

And i am certainly not saying that i share his dashing good looks or his acting qualities, (hmm) 

But it is a brilliant read. 

indeed, anyone who hasn't read 'To Kill A Mockingbird", please do so at once.

You won't regret it. 

DPS Ammonite