Never identified a fossil before!

KristenN

Hello, I am very new to this. I am a bio teacher with no experience in paleontology but I have to teach it! 

I recently found an intact top and bottom scallop shell off the James River, in Surry county, Virginia. 

I know it belongs to the Chesapecten genus, but not sure what species it is. Some friends have tried to help but I don’t understand what they are talking about. Possibly found in either the Yorktown formation or Eastover formation. Please help! 

04B5EB3D-ACC5-4602-8C7E-C527C28C2841.jpeg

• I found this Informative 1

Welcome to the Forum! :) 

Certainly a Chesapectens (and a really neat one given what seem to be barnacle epibionts!). I'm no help to drill down to the species level (I only have a C. nefrens, but that is from the Miocene in Maryland), but it won't be long until one of our experts who have collected in that area chimes in.

You'll find you're in good company around here. So many of us are educators as well! We're also fortunate to have members here who volunteer their time to visit schools to give guest talks and hands-on presentations on fossils. 

...How to Philosophize with a Hammer

Hi Kristen!

I'm a science teacher, too - welcome to the forum from finally-starting-to-warm-up Ontario!!! :P

I've never collected in your area, but I've found a couple of images that might help you find what you're looking for - please see below.

In addition to the barnacles encrusting your scallop, I think it was encrusted by a coral, too!  Very cool!

By the way - I've learned that the state fossil of Virginia is Chesapecten jeffersonius :)

Happy fossil-hunting!

Monica

3-Chesapecten-evolution.jpg

(from http://woostergeologists.scotblogs.wooster.edu/files/2017/05/3-Chesapecten-evolution.jpg)

newscallops.jpg

(from https://www.agiweb.org/news/evolution/scallops.html)

• I found this Informative 6