Prehistoric Crocodile 2.0

Dwinge28

Better photos of my findings I think it’s the  fragments of the plates of a sarcosuchus but I’m no expert by any means I’m curious about the long fragments on the bottom row I found literally with the plate fragments curious to see if it belongs to the animal as well 

found 

summerville South Carolina 

dorchester creek

B784CC53-5B27-4802-B938-FDB2509D253C.jpeg

Your bone fragments look marine and the long ones are possible ribs or vertebrae processes probably from cetaceans.

FYI, Sarcosuchus is a Cretaceous croc found in Africa

• I found this Informative 1

Thank you so much @Troodon  I definitely have more reading to do !! thank you for your id on my findings 

The reason I stated prehistoric croc because another collector who said he was with the  local  museum stated they found a crocodile in the formation I was currently in and I was even more convinced when  I compared it to these plates I own from an alligator 

0BAB2A08-5FA7-4A6F-AB7E-409BEA105AB2.jpeg

Crocodile by Ikea

'Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.'

George Santayana

1 hour ago, Dwinge28 said:

found a crocodile in the formation

Yep .. there have been crocodile fossils found in and around Summerville in the Chandler Bridge/Ashley fm.  One I believe, looking at my images, was Gavialosuchus carolinensis. (aka. Thecachampsa antiqua )

My assumption also is that most of anything from the Pleistocene is Alligator in the Southeast (?) .. those osteoderms having a more pronounced 'hump'

Cheers,

Brett

Edit: found my other link/more info - https://www.charlestonmuseum.org/news-events/crocodile/?fbclid=IwAR2vAx8HdhgGO6ZaqSEH7Bqm4g895E242Oak2IDG7_MGFV9Kx9IHaFnUH8c