Virginia - Maryland Aquia & Nanjemoy formations dating?

kate_rose

Hi, 

We are doing a unit on geology/paleontology in our homeschool with the fossils we find.  I was wondering if anyone knows the difference between the Aquia and Nanjemoy formations.  I know wikipedia is not perfect but I am not an expert and it lists them as separate formations albeit both from the Paleogene.  I have read Paleocene/Eocene border for the Aquia formation.  Is that correct?  The Nanjemoy formation I had not read about before today.  Is it just the same thing on the Maryland side of the River instead of the Virginia side?

Thanks for the help,

Kate

It’s not easy to find an exposure of the Nanjemoy formation in which to fossil hunt. It exposes on several points along the Potomac. They have different fauna’s. Nanjemoy contains serrated Otodus (which depending on the amount of serration can have different names). The Aquia typically contains your usual Otodus obliquus. You can see and fossil hunt the Aquia at Purse state park and Douglas point.

• I found this Informative 2

“...whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity, from so simple a beginning endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been and are being evolved.” ~ Charles Darwin

Happy hunting,

Mason