bocc54

Corys lane finds

bocc54

Hi All, 

I am new to fossil collecting and this was my first time hunting for them. I went to corys lane in RI. All I had with me was a hammer and I really had no clue what I was doing. The tide was low. Was I supposed to be looking/breaking the shale that was at the low tide line or was I supposed to look in the shale that had fallen from the bottom of the cliff? Do I even need to break the shale or will the fossils already be visible? I spent 4 hours there and found nothing up until my last 10 minutes there. Attached is what I found. I believe the first picture is a fern? And have no clue what the second one is. 

1D81E840-39B4-47FC-857F-671FE13EB502.jpeg

caldigger

Second is also a fern segment.

Nice finds!  At least now you know what you are looking for.  :thumbsu:

bocc54
20 minutes ago, caldigger said:

Second is also a fern segment.

Nice finds!  At least now you know what you are looking for.  :thumbsu:

Thank you! In the future do you recommend scouting the overhanging outcrops or should I be looking in the shale by the water / low tide line? Both of these were found by the overhanging outcrops.

caldigger

As I am completely unknowing of your hunting grounds, let's hope someone that goes there can answer your inquiry.

Pagurus
37 minutes ago, caldigger said:

As I am completely unknowing of your hunting grounds, let's hope someone that goes there can answer your inquiry.

2 hours ago, bocc54 said: