Polishing cross section of a stromatoporoid

SteveE

Greetings from Central PA.  I'm  a total noob when it comes to fossil prep.   Today I have a flattish piece, about 10" across and 1" thick.  It from a large outcrop of wavy laminations that I believe are from a Keyser Formation stromatoporoid.   It's pretty weathered and too hard to tell if pillars are present.   So I'd like to try to grind/polish one edge.   I have a good collection of metal and woodworking sanders and grinders available but nothing specifically designed for rocks.

So my QUESTION IS.... is there a reasonable way to grind/polish the edge of this sample to look for stromatoporoid pillars?   I'm just guessing that false negatives are common doing this sort of thing. so I thought I'd seek expert advice before I just make up some hatchet job only to get iffy results.

Thanks

At 1" thick, a circular tile saw should work OK, and you can then grind and polish with a few grades of wet and dry paper (used wet). Otherwise, I guess an angle grinder suitable for masonry should produce a flat enough surface to wet and dry.

Tarquin

12 hours ago, SteveE said:

Greetings from Central PA.  I'm  a total noob when it comes to fossil prep.   Today I have a flattish piece, about 10" across and 1" thick.  It from a large outcrop of wavy laminations that I believe are from a Keyser Formation stromatoporoid.   It's pretty weathered and too hard to tell if pillars are present.   So I'd like to try to grind/polish one edge.   I have a good collection of metal and woodworking sanders and grinders available but nothing specifically designed for rocks.

So my QUESTION IS.... is there a reasonable way to grind/polish the edge of this sample to look for stromatoporoid pillars?   I'm just guessing that false negatives are common doing this sort of thing. so I thought I'd seek expert advice before I just make up some hatchet job only to get iffy results.

Thanks