Extracting bone from Aust Cliff matrix

AGW2

Hi everyone,

I am new to fossil hunting and recently took a trip to my local spot at Aust cliff in Bristol. I found some small chunks of bone bed about the size of a golf ball along the foreshore which I can see have small bits of bone including teeth. 

Does anyone have a good technique to extracting these without damaging the interesting bits.

Cheers

• I found this Informative 1

Moved to Fossil Preparation.

Welcome to the Forum. :) 

Air scribes and air abrasion are the usual methods, although dental picks, scribes, and rotary tools can be used with some success, depending on hardness of the surrounding matrix. 

A search through this Forum will bring up techniques. ;) 

Tim    -  VETERAN SHALE SPLITTER

MOTM.png.61350469b02f439fd4d5d77c2c69da85.png      PaleoPartner.png.30c01982e09b0cc0b7d9d6a7a21f56c6.png.a600039856933851eeea617ca3f2d15f.png     Postmaster1.jpg.900efa599049929531fa81981f028e24.jpg    VFOTM.png.f1b09c78bf88298b009b0da14ef44cf0.png  VFOTM  --- APRIL - 2015  

John Muir ~ ~ ~ ~   ><))))( *>  About Me      

Post some photos when you can get some. The right prep attack is heavily dependent on the specimen.

Always approach your preparation with this mindset: remove the matrix from the fossil, not the fossil from the matrix. Whatever you remove gets broken and this philosophical understanding will save you from many unintended breaks.

On 12/11/2019 at 3:41 PM, AGW2 said:

Hi everyone,

I am new to fossil hunting and recently took a trip to my local spot at Aust cliff in Bristol. I found some small chunks of bone bed about the size of a golf ball along the foreshore which I can see have small bits of bone including teeth. 

Does anyone have a good technique to extracting these without damaging the interesting bits.

Cheers