Where to get started in finding Central Texas teeth and bones

Jared C

I'm a newbie who lives in the Austin area with a lot of passion for ancient life, but I'm having trouble making a decisive start with with my searches. I have a particular interest in large western interior seaway predators, most notably xiphactinus, but also the mosasaurs and sharks that lived in the area as well. Finding a vertebrae, of perhaps even teeth from these groups would be absolutely wonderful, but of the few creeks in the Austin area I've scouted, I've been able to turn up nothing besides gastropods. This is still despite heavily studying the sometimes confusing Texas geological maps

So with this in mind, how and where do I start? Are there any places in the Austin area where I may have some luck in discovering possible vertebrae or teeth? I'd love any advice, I'm eager to make a start but I'm quite alone and need a little bit of guidance.

Thanks!

“Not only is the universe stranger than we think, it is stranger than we can think” -Werner Heisenberg 

I've never hunted in the Austin area and I'm not familiar with the outcrops. That said it never hurts to ask for advice from people more familiar with the area. I'm sure some people who are will reply on this thread but I wanted to mention that Austin has a Paleontological Society and you'd probably learn a lot of surrounding outcrops from the members, newsletters, etc.. They also do field trips. https://www.austinpaleo.org/index.html

They are currently limited with Covid but they're still doing some activities and I suspect you'll be able to learn a lot.

• I found this Informative 3