Fossil Id Confirmation - White River Skull

leftoversalmon

This has been in the family for probably 60+ years. I have handled it and seen it countless times, prior to this it has sat in the bottom of a garage cabinet drawer for the longest time, and now I'm bringing it to you! This skull was caked in matrix on one side and mostly exposed on the other before I started working on it (first picture is the exposed side). I think I have the ID correct, I believe it's a Hyracodon skull, I'm looking for confirmation and I'm also curious as to which "sub member" these are found in... Brule, Chadron, or another layer of the White River Formation (I'm new to this and the majority of my research has been more geared toward the Cretaceous period of my state, thanks in part to the Jurassic Park movies ... :) ) . Forgive me as I haven't done a ton of research on the White River area, or ever stepped foot there... I know it's tough to believe as I live right here in South Dakota, but I continue to tell myself every time I drive by on I90 "next time", so maybe soon I'll put my boots on that ground. (I know that it's illegal to collect bone fossils in the  National Park, but its an absolutely beautiful area that I have yet to check out). Anyway, here are the most recent preparation photos. (I have a decent amount of progress photos if anyone is interested). I'm not quite done with prep yet and I'm happy to take more detailed photos of anything someone might find interesting.

IMG_E6636.thumb.JPG.18e53540bd10f453bd136f6527975898.JPG

IMG_E6635.thumb.JPG.0e00ecfcd941310f4d9b1066950fb810.JPG

• I found this Informative 2

• Fossildude19 changed the title to Fossil Id Confirmation - White River Skull
11 minutes ago, steelhead9 said:

Yes, a hyracodon, and a pretty darn nice one at that!

I would agree, congratulations on a cool fossil! I hope I find one like that when i'm in that formation later this summer.

• I found this Informative 2