Greetings From Virginia!

firefish68

Hey gang! I should start by saying I have no training nor any proper "schoolin'" on fossils or anything related to them, but not long ago my family and I went out walking along a creek down the road a ways and we happened to find a few small fossils, or what we assume are fossils and we are all hooked now! I am really looking forward to talking with all of you and soaking up as much knowledge and wisdom as you are willing to dish out. I will try to keep the dumb questions to a minimum, but I make no promises, so please be patient. As for the fossils we found, I'll try to post a picture here and in the ID topic as well. I would love to be able to tell the kids what it is we found! Happy hunting everyone!post-9211-0-61352200-1344550087_thumb.jpg

Hello welcome from Scotland! I think it might be coral you found but Im new to all this aswell so maybe you should wait for a few more opinions :P

Hello from southwestern VA (Marion) as well as Greenville, NC when I'm in school.

Where did you find those fossils? I can probably help with formation and age with some familiarity of the area.

I went to school near there at Radford University so we had to learn some about the geology of the area.

Welcome, there are lots of helpful people on here.

• I found this Informative 1

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone! I am really glad I found this site. And I replied to your post on the ID topic Jyonts. Can you recommend any other places to go?

Welcome aboard :)

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!