Newb In Nc

oscul8or

• New Members

I found my first shark tooth this weekend! Yay!

But here’s the thing: I’m a complete newb at this and have no idea how to best go about finding more.

My wife & I bought a house on Emerald Isle, NC last year. We rent it out during the summer and get down for occasional long weekends the rest of the year. I’d heard of folks finding teeth on the beach there, including a friend who was vacationing, just looking for pretty shells and found a 1.5” tooth. There have been a couple of posts here as well that seem to indicate there are teeth to be found here.

So here were the circumstances: Hurricane Sandy went by just far enough from the NC coast to kick things up but not cause serious damage (at least not too close to Emerald Isle). I got down to the beach Saturday morning, tide was rising (about 2 hours before high). There were tons of shells all over the place. Large piles of small shells, LOTS of medium sized (quarter to silver dollar sized) and even plenty of bigger stuff. So I started looking. My vision is pretty good, but I was first looking for larger, blackish, pointy triangle thingys – my focus was maybe an inch or bigger. After about 40 minutes of this, the dog was getting antsy to go back and I gave up. A couple more excursions, at differing tides, totaling about 2 hours netted one ~3/8” tooth after getting on my hands and knees and pouring through some piles of small stuff.

So my question is this: for beach combing, what are the techniques? Do I need a shovel and a few sieves? I thought my timing would be perfect coming shortly after the hurricane, but was a little disappointed to come away with such a small haul. Is there a trick to get your brain to be able to lock on to the right shapes?

Does anyone here have any experience at EI? I'll be there every weekend this November so I'd like to have a better shot.

Thanks in advance for any advice.