How To Make Fossil Jewelry Wire Wrapping--No Fossils Harmed!

Bev

Please let me preface this with, I AM NO EXPERT! I have never made jewelry before. I've had two strokes so I'm not particularly dexterous--the old grey mare ain't what she used to be. :) I was looking for a way to display the fossils that I have found rather than leave them in a box or outside in the weather. I have a lot of small fossils. And in trading I acquired some teeth and other fossils. I wear my jewelry and I give it as gifts to family and friends. And I accidently discovered that when I substitute teach the fossils draw the interest of the children to science!

This is a great craft for youth involved in fossiling. You can acquire your beads and baubles inexpensively at rummage sales, etc. by cutting up costume jewelry necklaces. Or you can buy kits at stores. SUPER mother-daughter hobby! Absolutely terrific personalized gift to your lover! And guys, you can do this too!

This is a super simple tutorial how-to on how make jewelry WITHOUT harming the fossils!

post-9628-0-67785200-1365357265_thumb.jpg

Wire is your basic component. Most wire here in the US at a hobby shop like Michael's or Hobby Lobby is like $3-$5 a roll. These are just examples of colors I have on hand. I like the copper, silver and black for most fossils. You can get aluminum wire in red, pink, etc.

I use almost exclusively 24 an 26 gauge wire. For some of the bigger, heavier jewelry fossils I use 20 gauge. The lower the number the heavier the wire and more difficult to bend.

Triangular shaped fossils like teeth are the easiest to wrap.

post-9628-0-57649300-1365357613_thumb.jpg post-9628-0-93365200-1365357638_thumb.jpg

Front and back views. Two ways to do teeth. With the little leaf clip I use super glue on each side to secure it.

post-9628-0-37463100-1365357766_thumb.jpg