Is This A Texas Shark Tooth

rhbrann

• New Members

I'm new here. Sunday I was fishing with my daughter, having no luck, and look down and started seeing various fossils. As a kid I remember find fossils in the Benbrook lake and creeks. I picked up what I thought was a sharks tooth. Went online but couldn't seem to match it with what other people have found. Can you give me your opinion

post-14744-0-62955700-1395162268_thumb.jpgpost-14744-0-14847600-1395162270_thumb.jpgpost-14744-0-67582900-1395162272_thumb.jpg if it is a tooth or just a rock.

I'm not an expert, especially on vertebrates, but I don't think that's a shark tooth. It may be a whale tooth, or a different vertebrate fossil (bone or ivory). It does look like a fossil of some sort to me. I would tentatively identify it as ivory, based on the grain pattern visible in the second photo.

You have a nice set of marine fossils there otherwise! I see two ammonites, a nicely-shaped gastropod, at least three sea urchins, and a partial bivalve. The other three pieces don't have any clearly visible identifying characteristics in the photos, but could easily be more urchins.

Welcome to the Forum!

I am pretty sure it is not a shark's tooth; we have a bunch of Texas members, and I'll have to let them opine as to what it is.

"There has been an alarming increase in the number of things I know nothing about." - Ashleigh Ellwood Brilliant

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.” - Thomas Henry Huxley

>Paleontology is an evolving science.

>May your wonders never cease!

Hi and welcome. Certainly not shark tooth. I see a pen shell or somesuch. Google pen shell fossil and see if any of the pix suggest yeah or nay.

I agree. I think it is some sort of bivalve mollusk shell.. not a tooth. Thanks for sharing.

• New Members