Shells From Whiskey Bridge Matrix

lissa318

I believe I did a fairly good job at ID'ing these... This is my first attempt with shells so please feel free to correct me if I made any mistakes! :)

1. Michela trabeatoides

post-8801-0-09879600-1396193179_thumb.jpg

post-8801-0-62726100-1396193204_thumb.jpg

2. Latirus moorei

post-8801-0-61884000-1396193269_thumb.jpg

post-8801-0-74654100-1396193289_thumb.jpg

3. Bonellitia Parilis

post-8801-0-08746300-1396193389_thumb.jpg

post-8801-0-68221700-1396193420_thumb.jpg

4. Pseudoliva vetusta

post-8801-0-35619700-1396193539_thumb.jpg

post-8801-0-81838900-1396193565_thumb.jpg

5. Hesperiturris nodocarinatus

post-8801-0-03835400-1396193686_thumb.jpg

post-8801-0-45330900-1396193747_thumb.jpg

Thanks for looking! :)

Edited by lissa318
  • I found this Informative 1

Lissa--Nice Texas Gastro's, must be a neat place to hunt, what do you use to ID your finds?----Tom

Grow Old Kicking And Screaming !!
"Don't Tread On Me"

Lissa--Nice Texas Gastro's, must be a neat place to hunt, what do you use to ID your finds?----Tom

Thanks! I received a little bit of this matrix from member sixgill pete along with some Lee Creek matrix. He also sent me a 2 page PDF with common finds from that location. I was able to ID the ones above from that. There are others I am not quite sure of yet though. :)

Edited by lissa318

Lissa,

Your ID's for No.s 1,2,and 5 are,I believe, spot on. Your ID on the Distorsio septemdentata should be in my opinion, Bonellitia parilis Palmer, 1937. The D. septemdentata has seven teeth on the inside of the outer lip. Also, the B. parilis will show two folds on the columella.

On No. 4, you are correct on the ID of the genus and specie but it is not the subspecie carinata. It is simply Pseudoliva vetusta. The Pseudoliva vetusta carinata displays an umbilicus (a central cavity of a shellformed by the walls on the inner sides of the whorls). Pseudoliva can be a confusing genus.