How Dangerous Can The Cliffs Be? (Aquia Formation)

AmazoniteJosh

My favorite collecting spot is the aquia formation. The best and most pristine teeth are found on/near/in the cliffs. This means that I like searching near the cliffs there often, so should I be concerned about cliff collapses there? Someone at the site called them ''Non-collapsable cliffs'' which cannot be completely true. I've heard that when the cliffs are soft and wet they are dangerous, but what if they're dry and it's a calm day? So overall, should I be concerned about the cliffs when they're dry and when there hasn't been a storm recently?

Josh, I've been collecting those Aquia exposure cliffs for many many years. All you have to see is one large pile of dirt up against the cliff face and you quickly realize that hey, these cliffs can collapse! It's a naturally occurring process because the cliff face is exposed to the elements, and as the face gets wet, and water from above seeps into the ground, the face expands and contracts during freezing and thawing, and eventually chunks break loose thereby creating more unstable sections. It becomes sort of like a domino effect, so it seems there are always less than stable areas of the cliff face just waiting for the right conditions to cause them to crumble and break away. I used to think that it was "safe" to be near the cliffs as long as it wasn't raining, or during some sort of storm, but I quickly learned that was wrong when a friend of mine was struck by a relatively small piece of cliff, about the size of a softball. He was about 10 feet away from the cliff face and a chunk fell without any sound or warning, striking him in the side of the ehad and shoulder. It broke his collarbone/shoulder, a few ribs, multiple lacerations, and he woke up in the hospital. Another collector found him and prevented him from drowning.